Webbed for Sure

7 Apr

I felt motivated one weekend and made two bags. This is Bag #2.

Bag #2

I was inspired by an etsy shop I saw: Rachel Elise. Pretty bags. I really like the flaps with the angled color highlights she uses and the design elements in the extra webbing and closure.

To make this, I upcycled pants for the main fabric and decided to “embrace” the seams. So I stuck one seam straight along the front of the bag, and the other a bit crookedly along the back of the bag.

Bag #2 - Front

The bag uses a clasp, which is connected to the decorative webbing along the flap, to keep your items safe. It works well for security and looks great.

Bag #2 - Clasp

The bag isn’t too big, more on the small side, perfect for a book, wallet, phone, and a few other small items.

Bag #2 - Inside

There is one inside pocket for small items, and a loop for keys.

Bag #2 - Inside pocket

One thing I wanted to add was an easy to access back pocket. Since the front clasp is quite secure, this zippered back pocket is for things you want more easily accessible, like your phone.

Bag #2 - Back pocket

Since one size does not always fit all, I used some extra webbing to make a nice long adjustable strap ideal for crossbody, over the shoulder comfort.

Bag #2 - Adjustable strap

My sister-in-law’s birthday is coming up, so I’ll be giving this to her.
Happy birthday, sister-in-law!

Bag #2

2 Responses to “Webbed for Sure”

  1. Jenn April 11, 2014 at 3:01 am #

    The perfect gift- going to use it on my upcoming trip – so many nice thoughtful details, zipped pockets, key loop, cross-body design, secure flap and closure device- AND it’s the perfect size. I love the colors too!

    Thank you!!!
    your-sister-in-law

  2. Lily April 7, 2014 at 7:39 pm #

    Looks real nice!

Leave a Reply

