Precision Quilting, Sorta, Not Really

27 Nov

It still annoys me that I’m not as precise as I’d like to be when I’m sewing. I always cut fabric a little bit larger than I need to allow for that margin of error. 

But after sewing for a while now, I thought I’d challenge myself with this quilt.

Quilt

With my first quilt, I accounted for being unable to line things up perfectly by having rectangles intentionally unaligned, and with my second quilt, I had cut rather large pieces to minimize the possibility of mismatched seams, but for this quilt, I decided to just go for it.

I was pretty precise in cutting the fabric, and when it came to sewing, I tried to be as careful as I could. But it still has some mismatches which are noticeable looking a little closer.

Quilt

Regardless, I’m still very happy with the results. The quilt has bold colors and a fun pattern.

This is the smallest quilt I’ve done yet – measuring in as a full-size blanket (instead of my usual queen-size). Instead of regular quilt batting, I used a fleece-like blanket by Calvin Klein from Costco, which gave the quilt a little extra puffiness. And, the back of the quilt is black, which really makes the bright green binding pop.

Quilt

The quilt is complete just in time to keep us warm on the couch, while we feed our latest White Collar addiction on Netflix…

Quilt

… or for a mid-day nap on the couch.

Quilt

2 Responses to “Precision Quilting, Sorta, Not Really”

  1. kcm702 December 2, 2013 at 1:09 pm #

    Thanks, Melanie!

  2. Melanie in IA November 28, 2013 at 7:50 am #

    The quilt is strikingly pretty in color combination, and looks very cuddly. Good job! (Precision gets easier with more experience. You’re doing fine.)

Leave a Reply

