Carrot Cupcakes

23 Oct

One of my resolutions this year was to read more books.

It hasn’t been going well. And although I know it’s not going well, I feel too lazy to get moving on this.

Carrot Cupcakes

So instead, I’ve made the argument in my head that listening to podcasts is, in some aspects, similar enough to reading a book. (I know this isn’t even close to true, but don’t tell me that.)

Carrot Cupcakes Recipe

Ingredients

So I set up my iPod to subscribe to a bunch of podcasts.

But I’m really not a great listener. In meetings, I will accidentally zone out and subsequently panic that I have no idea what everyone else in the meeting was talking about for the past five minutes.

Mixing the batter

Carrot Cupcakes

Anyway, the best podcast that I’ve listened to so far is the Dinner Party Download. The premise of the podcast is that it prepares you to “win” your next dinner party, which means that the hosts, along with their guests, give you some ideas for small talk, a cocktail recipe, etiquette tips, news/stories, and a music playlist.

Making the Cream Cheese Frosting

Decorating

One of the cool stories from the podcast was about Jane Fonda. How after conquering fashion, modeling, and acting, she went on to conquer fitness. She got into aerobics, which was new at the time, opened her own aerobics studio, and published an aerobics workout book.

And then some guy who produced home improvement VHS tapes got inspired and asked Fonda to make an aerobics video. At that time, only 5% of homes had a VCR to watch VHS tapes.

He thought a few people would buy the workout video, but he was wrong, millions of people bought it. And that sparked millions of homes to buy VCRs, arguably starting the home video boom.

Carrot Cupcake

Pretty interesting, right?

If you agree, give the Dinner Party Download a listen while you make these delicious Carrot Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting from Martha Stewart. And then share them with your dinner party guests (or eat them all yourself while pretending to read).

Carrot Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

