I’m Allergic to Peas

13 Apr

“I’m allergic to peas” — that’s what I used to tell people. And it is a true statement.

Peas with Baked Ricotta and Garlic Fries

A few years ago, I went to an allergist who told me I was allergic to peas, even though I never had a bad reaction to them. But I disliked peas, so that’s what I told people as my reason for not wanting to eat my peas.

Recently, I really started liking peas. So when I saw this recipe for Peas with Baked Ricotta and Bread Crumbs, I knew I had to make it.

But the thought of just peas and ricotta for dinner seemed daunting to me (in almost the exact opposite manner than daunting usually is). So, I added garlic fries (from Trader Joe’s)!

Garlic Fries

After the fries, come the baked ricotta.

To bake the ricotta stick it in the oven until it browns on top. Once the ricotta is browned, sprinkle on some bread crumbs and put it back in the oven until the bread crumbs are browned too.

Baked Ricotta

Scoop some on top of the fries, and smoosh it down.

Baked Ricotta on Garlic Fries

Then pile on the peas, which were sautéed with some butter, diced onions, a bit of lemon juice, salt and pepper. (The recipe calls for fresh peas, but I used frozen.)

Peas on top of Baked Ricotta and Garlic Fries

Lastly, eat until you are no longer allergic to peas.

Peas with Baked Ricotta and Garlic Fries

Leave a Reply

