Go Go Gravlax

14 Jan

I have a subscription to Everyday with Rachael Ray Magazine. I ordered it for free for one year.

It is the best free magazine I’ve ever received, wherein I discovered that you and I can make gravlax at home. It never occurred to me that this sashimi-like salmon (which we usually eat at Ikea) could easily be made at home.

gravlax1

Rachael Ray shared this recipe for Clementine Gravlax.

While hers looked good, I didn’t really want a clementine flavor, so instead I made my own. It was delicious, as my husband can attest.

gravlax11

Ingredients:
2 lb salmon fillet (with skin on one side)
1/3 cup salt
1/3 cup sugar
3 tbsp dill weed
3 tbsp pepper

Directions:

1. Clean your salmon and take out any bones. Pat dry. (I cut my salmon in half so it’d be easier to work with.)

gravlax2

2. Mix together salt, sugar, dill weed and pepper.

gravlax3

3. Place salmon skin-side down in the center of a large piece of saran wrap.

4. Spread salt mixture over the salmon, being sure to cover it all. Use the entire mixture.

gravlax4

5. Wrap the salmon tightly in the saran. If needed, use additional saran to wrap it additional times.

gravlax5

6. Place wrapped salmon in a baking tray. Place another baking tray the same size on top of the salmon. Put it in your fridge with books/weights on top of the trays to weigh it down.

gravlax6

7. Flip your salmon over every 12 hours.

8. After 48-hours in the fridge, the salmon is done curing. Unwrap it, and rinse off the salt mixture. Cut off thin slices (discarding the skin) and serve as desired.

gravlax7

gravlax8

I served ours on toasted torta bread with red onion, tomato, lettuce, a few slices of lemon and a Dill Horseradish sauce.

gravlax10

I made the Dill Horseradish sauce by mixing 2 tbsp horseradish sauce, juice of 1/2 lemon, 1 tbsp dijon/brown mustard, 1/4 tsp pepper and 1/2 tsp dill weed.

gravlax9

gravlax12

Leave a Reply

