Paperwhites

13 Dec

One day, I’d like to have my own garden. I’d probably kill every plant I attempted to grow, and refuse to go out during the summer because of mosquitoes, but one can idealize.

I just started reading Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver. (Have you read her books? She’s an awesome writer. I recommend The Poisonwood Bible.) She and her family move from the desert in Arizona to a farm in Virginia. The family plans to live off of local-grown food and grow a lot of it themselves.

I can’t decide if I’d really love or hate living on a farm. I guess it would depend on how successful I am at creating and maintaining sustenance. I should probably dip that thumb in some green paint.

The closest I’ve come lately is playing with paperwhites, which according to about.com is a great activity to do with kids.

In San Francisco, my mom and I went to the farmer’s market at the Ferry Building. At one of the vendors, The Gardener, we picked up some paperwhite bulbs.

Is it a bad sign that I think the bulbs look prettier than when they are actually in bloom?

paperwhites1

The bulbs are easy to plant – all you need is a vase, your bulbs, rocks and water.

paperwhites2

Fill 1/2 your vase with some rocks, place your bulb in, fill with water just to the base of the bulb, and drop some more rocks in around the bulb to keep it in place.

paperwhites3

paperwhites4

In approximately 5-7 weeks the bulbs should bloom. Along the way, you can see them start to sprout up. Here are the ones my mom planted, after just 1.5 weeks.

paperwhites5

After they are done blooming, the bulbs can be replanted in the ground, where they will bloom the following spring.

Leave a Reply

