Quilted

25 Nov

I had a lot of goals for this year.

The trick to goals, for me, is to say them out loud. When I tell someone my goal, it means I gotta make it happen. If I just keep the goal to myself, there’s a good chance I’ll never do it and/or accomplish it on time.

A few weeks ago, I told a friend that I was determined to finish a quilt I started back in February by the end of the year. Considering, I was working on the thing at a snail’s pace, it was a somewhat lofty goal.

But, on Friday night, I stayed up til 2:30 a.m. to finish the quilt.

After I finished, I threw the quilt on the couch, and went to bed exhausted. I woke up late the next morning, to find my  husband already awake and taking pictures of the quilt for me for my blog.

When I started the project back in February, I knew I wouldn’t be able to get squares to line up perfectly, so I decided to cut random sized blocks for the patterned side. I sewed each column separately, then the columns together.

The quilt is queen sized, which was the biggest detraction for me in working on it. Every time I wanted to work on it, I had to clear so much space that I just decided to put it off.

And, when I had finally finished the patterned side, and wanted to baste it, the couches needed to be moved so I could lay everything completely flat.

I didn’t try to do a fancy quilting pattern when sewing the layers together, but instead sewed in the “ditches.”

I also feared the binding, but it turned out to be easy and looks really nice.

Only after finishing it, I decided the process wasn’t that bad and somewhat enjoyable. Although next time (if there is a next time), I’ll make a smaller sized quilt to avoid my grievances this time around.

Here’s my overly simplistic guide to making a quilt:

1. Cut blocks, and sew together patterned side.

2. Lay out flat sheet, batting, then patterned side on top. Follow directions on how to baste with spray adhesive here: Machine Quilting Tutorial

3. Sew together the three layers in the ditches (or in fancy patterns). Trim the excess fabric off the edges.

4. Bind the edges using this tutorial: Fast Machine Quilt Binding

5. Wash, and enjoy!

6 Responses to “Quilted”

  1. Sharon December 8, 2012 at 4:16 pm #

    Fantastic! I’m looking forward to the day that I can graduate to larger quilting projects.

  2. Lily December 4, 2012 at 11:31 pm #

    Your quilt looks fantastic!! Can’t wait to see your next project.

  3. AnyoneCanQuilt November 26, 2012 at 2:49 pm #

    Your quilt looks amazing!! I love it. I especially love the pictures that your husband took! I hope there are plenty more lovely quilts in your future. Thank you so much for linking to my tutorial. 🙂 p.s. I love Mumford and Sons!! x

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Precision Quilting, Sorta, Not Really | Nothing But Time - November 27, 2013

    […] my first quilt, I accounted for being unable to line things up perfectly by having rectangles intentionally […]

  2. Can’t Quit Quilting | Nothing But Time - May 23, 2013

    […] after I made my last quilt, I said, I wouldn’t make another large quilt, but I […]

  3. Bear Does Not Fit in Vest | Nothing But Time - April 27, 2013

    […] Sewing for little kids and then blogging about it is just not as fun without the little kid modeling the results and looking all cute. Too bad the bears could not model the vest, like they did for the quilt. […]

Leave a Reply

