Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Waffles

16 Nov

During the week I was “off” for Hurricane Sandy, I slept late most days. But towards the end, I decided I should be taking advantages of the mornings. And by “taking advantage of the mornings,” I mean making delicious breakfast foods I would not otherwise enjoy if I was sitting at my desk at work.

With the help of the internets, I found a whole blog devoted to perfecting the pumpkin waffle. Although, the blog hadn’t been updated for a few years, the bloggers only stopped updating after they found what they believe is the “Ultimate Pumpkin Waffle” recipe.

So I tried it out, but added some oats for a little bit of extra chewiness and chocolate chips to help satisfy my sweet tooth.

Here’s my slight adaptation of their ultimate recipe (from Pumpkin Waffles Blog):

Ingredients
1/4 cup brown sugar
3 tbsp cornstarch
3/4 cup flour
3/4 cup quick cooking oats
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 3/4 tsp. cinnamon
2 tsp ginger
1/4 tsp cloves
1/2 tsp nutmeg
2 large eggs
1 cup whole milk
1 cup canned solid-pack pumpkin
4 tbsp unsalted butter
chocolate chips

Directions
1. Whisk together brown sugar and cornstarch in a large bowl.
2. Mix in the remaining dry ingredients to the brown sugar and corn starch mixture.
2. Separate egg whites and yolks in separate bowls.
3. Add pumpkin and milk to the yolks. Whisk to blend.
4. Whip egg whites until it forms stiff peaks. Set aside.
5. Melt the butter and into the yolk/milk/pumpkin mixture. Whisk.
6. Mix in the pumpkin mixture to the dry ingredients.
7. Add the whipped egg whites into the mixture, folding them in.
8. Scoop the appropriate amount of batter into your preheated waffle iron, sprinkle some chocolate chips on top.

Leave a Reply

