Weekend in Food

27 Feb

Last week, I went out for paella with my friend at Nuela. The menu item reads:

“ARROZ CON PATO” FOR TWO
roasted duck breast/ confit thighs & gizzards
seared foie gras/ verde rice/ soft duck egg

Lot of fancy stuff in it. But the surprisingly non-expensive, delicious component was little cubes of butternut squash.

Paella

(Sorry for the poor paella pic — it was taken with my <1 megapixel ipod touch camera.)

The next day, I looked for paella recipes, and realized making paella was serious business. I’d have to buy a lot of ingredients and do a lot of work to make authentic paella. (Anyone have an easy paella recipe?)

So instead, I switched to butternut squash recipes. This past weekend, I tried two butternut squash recipes and a few other delicious homemade foods.

Friday dinner: Butternut Squash Orzo

This was an easy dish for a first-time cooker of butternut squash and orzo lover (i.e. me). Yummy dish. And enough leftovers for lunch a few days.

Butternut Squash Orzo

Saturday brunch: Avocado, Tomato, Mozz Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Since I laid my eyes on this sandwich, I wanted it. I bought all the ingredients and told my husband, “I’ve never made a grilled cheese sandwich before, I hope I don’t screw it up.” Since he supposedly makes delicious hot sandwiches, which he calls “sandwichgasms,” he offered to make it. Can’t go wrong with fresh mozz and avocado.

Mozz Avocado Tomatoe Sandwich

Mozz Avocado Tomatoe Sandwich

Saturday dinner: Butternut Squash Gnocchi

This was really time consuming to make. It took forever to roll out the pieces and there’s a lot of waiting time for it to chill. (I started making it Friday night in order to eat it Saturday night.) But, it was worth it. The finished product tasted amazing. And, luckily, I made extra, which is sitting in the freezer.

I served it with roasted onions and mushrooms, which were tossed in olive oil, salt, pepper and thyme, on top of the gnocchi. The veggies went really well with it.

Gnocchi

Gnocchi

Sunday brunch: Costco food court

I was planning to make Brussel Sprout Potato Hash for brunch, but I woke up too late and we had to go to Costco to buy steak for dinner anyway.

Sunday dinner: Steak and roasted potatoes and veggies

I’ve never made steak before, but my husband was craving it. So we decided to give it a try. My husband made a peppercorn sauce (not pictured) and flavored the steak with salt and pepper a few hours before cooking it. We took it out of the fridge about two hours before cooking to let it get to room temperature, and then I grilled the steak on our multi-cooker. I grilled it the Pioneer Woman way, melting butter on the grill and then cooking it for approx 4 mins on each side. It was a perfect medium rare.

Steak

Steak

Gluttony has gotta be my favorite of the seven deadly sins.

One Response to “Weekend in Food”

  1. Natalie @ A Turtle's Life for Me February 27, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

    So glad you enjoyed the avocado grilled cheese! I can’t believe you’ve never made a grilled cheese before! That’s amazing to me! All of your food looks amazing! Thanks for letting me now about this post!

Leave a Reply

